Should you write your characters to make people care about them?

As a reader, I prefer to read about main characters that I care about. But I think there are also many people who would enjoy reading about characters that they don’t care about? Maybe if the villain is the main character, you wouldn’t care that much about them but it could still be a good story.

So, as a writer, I wonder if I should always write my characters to make people care about them?

4 Likes

Depends on the kind of audience you want to attract.

2 Likes

if your readers dont care for your charaters they are badly written.

there is big difference between a charatere you like, and one you think is a good person. example so many people love darth vader. amazing charatere. we all know that he is the villain, likeing a charatere isn’t the same as agree with what their doing.

a reader should care about the characters if not they are badly written.

4 Likes

Yes! Lol I’ve cared about so many villain characters! I can’t read a story if I don’t care about the MC unless I’m reading it to laugh or something…

5 Likes

Not always, no. The readers do find it easier to associate to when they can relate to them, and often that means they fall for or care about the characters too. Though a hated character is just as good, so long as they’re not two dimensional.

What do you think, @phlegmatic?

1 Like

Hmm, good question. Wonder why you asked me specifically… :blush::thinking:

I’d say I agree with my past self. It does depend on the audience. And it depends on the story as well. I think it’s vital to make the characters 3-dimensional so it includes humanizing everyone and giving them “flaws” (ways they might not act in their right mind).